

### **CONTACT**

Scott Johnson Executive Director Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

### News Release

# West Liberty FFA Named 2024 Iowa FFA National Chapter Winner

ANKENY - The Iowa FFA National Chapter Awards will be presented during the 96<sup>th</sup> Iowa FFA Leadership Conference in Ames, on April 14-16, 2024. 42 chapters participated in this year's award program. The first-place chapter for the event is the West Liberty FFA Chapter. The Agricultural Education Instructors/FFA Advisors are Zach Morris and Elysse Buysse. The second-place chapter for the event is the Charles City FFA Chapter. The Agricultural Education Instructors/FFA Advisors are Bret Spurgin and Michelle Dohlman.

The National Chapter Award program encourages participating chapters to plan activities and carry them out with a successful Program of Activities. Chapters are recognized for outstanding achievement in the areas of Growing Leaders, Building Communities, and Strengthening Agriculture. The National Chapter Awards are sponsored by John Deere as a special project of the National FFA Foundation.

Three FFA Chapters were recognized for outstanding achievement in four areas. The North Scott Jr High FFA Chapter at Eldridge was named the Overall Middle School Winner. The West Liberty FFA Chapter was named the winner in the Growing Leaders Division and Strengthening Agriculture Division. The Benton Community FFA Chapter at Van Horne was named the Building Communities Division Winner. The top 27 FFA Chapters in Iowa will advance to the National FFA competition and will be recognized at the 97<sup>th</sup> National FFA Leadership Conference in Indianapolis, IN.

The National Chapter Awards program in Iowa is made possible with support by Heartland Co-op through the Iowa FFA Foundation. A complete list of results is included on the next page of this release.

###

#### **About Iowa FFA Association**

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of more than 19,700 student members as part of 263 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

## **2024 National Chapter Award Results**

Chap #	Chapter Name	Chapter PO	Rating	Rank	Winners
_	West Liberty	West Liberty	Gold		Growing Leaders, Strengthening Ag, Overall
	Charles City	Charles City	Gold		National Qualifier
	Benton Community	Van Horne	Gold		Building Communities, National Qualifier
	North Scott	Eldridge	Gold		National Qualifier
	Southeast Warren	Liberty Center	Gold		National Qualifier
	AGWSR	Ackley	Gold		National Qualifier
8	Algona	Algona	Gold		National Qualifier
	Bellevue	Bellevue	Gold		National Qualifier
29	South Winneshiek	Calmar	Gold		National Qualifier
286	Carroll Area	Carroll	Gold		National Qualifier
35	Brokaw	Clarinda	Gold		National Qualifier
339	Clear Lake	Clear Lake	Gold		National Qualifier
49	Decorah	Decorah	Gold		National Qualifier
346	North Scott Middle	Eldridge	Gold		National Qualifier, Overall Middle School Winner
107	South Hamilton	Jewell	Gold		National Qualifier
119	La Porte-Dysart	LaPorte City	Gold		National Qualifier
124	Central Trail	Leon	Gold		National Qualifier
137	Marengo	Marengo	Gold		National Qualifier
153	Mount Ayr	Mount Ayr	Gold		National Qualifier
183	Postville	Postville	Gold		National Qualifier
203	Sheldon	Sheldon	Gold		National Qualifier
208	Sioux Center	Sioux Center	Gold		National Qualifier
297	Sioux Central	Sioux Rapids	Gold		National Qualifier
38	North Linn	Troy Mills	Gold		National Qualifier
230	Vinton-ShellIsburg	Vinton	Gold		National Qualifier
269	Calamus-Wheatland	Wheatland	Gold		National Qualifier
	East Buchanan	Winthrop	Gold		National Qualifier
	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Gold		
	Rockford	Rockford	Gold		
237	Waverly-Shell Rock	Waverly	Gold		
90	AC/GC	Guthrie Center	Silver		
10	Anamosa	Anamosa	Silver		
	Diamond Trail	Monroe	Silver		
	Estherville	Estherville	Silver		
	Glidden-Ralston	Glidden	Silver		
	Newton	Newton	Silver		
	Okoboji	Milford	Silver		
	Southwest Valley	Corning	Silver		
	West Lyon	Inwood	Silver		
	Belmond-Klemme	Belmond	Bronze		
	Webster City	Webster City	Bronze		
244	North Fayette Valley	West Union	Bronze		